function readOnly(count){ }
Starting November 20, the site will be set to read-only. On December 4, 2023,
forum discussions will move to the Trailblazer Community.
+ Start a Discussion
Nick ValerioteNick Valeriote 

Passing Field Data in a Flow

Hi SF Developers,

I'm not a Developer, but rather an Admin who can dabble in code.  I was told by SF Support to come here with my question about a Flow request.

I'm new to Flow, but have worked out a flow that walks users through a series of screens in order to create a  SOW record (custom object)  via a custom button (New SOW) on a different object (Project). 

I want to pre and auto populate a few fields so the user doesn't have to do it, but I can't seem to figure it out.

1. Pre-populate Client field on Flow screen:
User-added image

2. Auto-populate Related SOW field on project page:
User-added image

I was given this set of instructions in order to accomplish the above two items, and I implemented these insturctions, yet it's not working.  Wondering if anyone can assist?

Instructions...
1. Create a Variable inside the Flow with the following specs:
> Label: recordId
> Type: Text
> Input/Output Type: Input and Output
2. Now, I assume the button would be calling the Flow by a link = 
/flow/Flow_Name?recordId={!Project__c.Id}
Update it like as above. Notice that we sending the Id of the Project record into the Variable inside of the Flow(this is why we set it to Input and Output)  - recordId

3. Now add a Fast Lookup inside the Flow(as the first element even before the Screen) that queries the Project object with a clause = 
Id equals {!recordId}
The result of the Fast Lookup will be an SObject Variable call it - project. Do not forget to query the fields that you are looking for from the Project record. 

4. You can then pre-populate the Screen Input Fields with the fields on the SObject Variable - project.