function readOnly(count){ }
Starting November 20, the site will be set to read-only. On December 4, 2023,
forum discussions will move to the Trailblazer Community.
+ Start a Discussion
shrey.tyagi88@tcs.comshrey.tyagi88@tcs.com 

Salesforce Inbound Integration Pattern - Basic Questions

Hi Everyone,
          I am a newbie to Salesforce Integrations and I am reading a lot of stuff to get hang of how SOAP and REST integrations are done . I have few very basic questions related to patterns , if anyone can help me out with them , that would be great. Please find them given below:

Q1. For an inbound integration, we have 2 options (as per my knowledge). One is to create an apex class and expose it as a web service , so that it can be consumed by external entity (C# or Java platform). This code will be used in whatever DML operations  that are required . Second option is to ask the Java/C# side developers to write their own code and provide their code login access to salesforce by adding the application under remote side settings. How do we choose which approach to take? 

Q2. While making HTTP callouts to external systems , we usedifferent type of encoding like given below:

String authorizationHeader = 'BASIC ' + EncodingUtil.base64Encode(headerValue);
String encodedPropAddress = EncodingUtil.urlEncode(Rec.a__c,'UTF-8');

How do we know which format is to be used when ? As in when to use base64 . Will it be provided to me as a salesforce developer by technicians of external systems (to which callouts are being made)?

I do know that these questions might sound to you as very basic ones , but I am bit confused . So I would really appriciate if someone can throw some light on them.

Thanks a lot for your help!!!

Regards
Shrey Tyagi
Best Answer chosen by shrey.tyagi88@tcs.com
daniel_hdaniel_h