function readOnly(count){ }
Starting November 20, the site will be set to read-only. On December 4, 2023,
forum discussions will move to the Trailblazer Community.
+ Start a Discussion
djhollingworthdjhollingworth 

Simple Formula Question

Hi

I'm pretty new to SalesForce development so I've a fairly simple question about formula calculations.

Very simple set up - A Job object that stores:

Account
Job Description
Billing Rate

A Task object that stores
Task Description
Start Date
End Date
Charge Amount

The Job object is the master of the Task Object in a master-detail relationship. All very straightforward.

In my Charge field I want to calculate how much to charge for a task. Simple formula:

Charge = (End Date - Start Date) * Billing Rate

But how do I get access to the billing rate on the master record? I simply cannot find a way of doing this. If I were using any sort of programming language it would be a doddle so I must have missed something here.

I also thought of transfering the Billing Rate from the Job to the Task whenever I created a new Task. I would have the Billing Rate as a hidden field on the Task and default it to the Billing Rate from the master Job record. I don't seem to be able to do that either.

Thanks

David
RickyGRickyG
David -

You can't do this with a formula field at this time, but you can access fields in a parent object as part of a field update for a workflow.  So you could simply set up a workflow to update a read-only field, which would give you the same result. (A shout out to Raja, the man!)

I would advise this over any copying of data, which can set up all kinds of integrity problems.

Hope this helps.
Hi Rick

Thanks for your reply. That's a solution I hadn't thought of.