function readOnly(count){ }
Starting November 20, the site will be set to read-only. On December 4, 2023,
forum discussions will move to the Trailblazer Community.
+ Start a Discussion
Kenji776Kenji776 

Save and Return to case button

Hello All.
I have made a new custom object called PETE items. Basically when our software has a bug, we put it into this internal development software (PETE). When phone support people find a bug, they report it through PETE, so it is nice to be able to keep track of what cases are waiting for what development fixes, hence I made the PETE items custom object. I want this to work similar to solutions, and have a few questions. (I am very new to coding s-controls, and have a fundamental understanding of javascript, but all of Salesforce's queries and special commands are very tricky).

1) I pretty much want to replicate the solutions functionality through and through, the attaching, searching, all that good stuff. Does anybody have a way that I can just copy the solutions and all it's functionality and modify it to my needs? I need to keep solutions in tact though. I know this probably isn'g going to happen, just figured it's worth a shot.

2) I want to add a save and return to case button, say you are entering a case, need to create a PETE item, so you click the New on the PETE items related list. This brings you to a screen to enter your PETE item, which is very cool. However, once you save it, I want it to return you to your case you were working on. I planed to make a custom button called "Save and Return" but am confused on how to code it. I have all the field names that could be updated from this form pasted below (straight out of the WSDL).

<complexType name="PETE_Items__c">

<complexContent>

<extension base="ens:sObject">

<sequence>
<element name="Account__c" nillable="true" minOccurs="0" type="tns:ID"/>
<element name="Account__r" nillable="true" minOccurs="0" type="ens:Account"/>