function readOnly(count){ }
Starting November 20, the site will be set to read-only. On December 4, 2023,
forum discussions will move to the Trailblazer Community.
+ Start a Discussion
DrewTDrewT 

Licenses and API Applications

I'm just beginning to develop API applications with Sales Force and would like to do things right.

I would like to develop a VERY simple web application that will access some VERY simple salesforce data. Which I know can be done.

What I am confused about is how I should approach this from a Licenses stand point. If I want different users to view some queried out information that I would present on the web site, do I need to pay for a different user/email license for each. What's stopping me from using the same (say, web login, web@domain.com) each time the site accesses information from my company's SalesForce account?

I have some follow up questions, but I will hold off until I understand this basic set accessing.

Thanks.

Drew

DevAngelDevAngel

Hi DrewT,

Each salesforce.com user that you have purchased can exercise the API under license.  The question about how to authenticate (either as the user using your web application or some uber user) depends on the context of your web application.  Another consideration is what kind of sharing model your company has implemented in salesforce.com. 

If you have an open sharing model (everyone can see and edit everyone else's data) then it doesn't really matter what user id you use.  On the other hand, if you want to present information that is relevant to a specific user based on record ownership, you will want to user the credentials of the user who is looking at the data.