function readOnly(count){ }
Starting November 20, the site will be set to read-only. On December 4, 2023,
forum discussions will move to the Trailblazer Community.
+ Start a Discussion
rurecruitrurecruit 

How do I pass Sales Force Login Credentials to Application Server?

Hi,

Please excuse but I am new to Sale Force.com.  My question is, I want to set up Web Link to be served up on Sales Force.com Account page.  I want the user that is logged into Sales Force.com to be able to click on the URL and their credentials (the credentials they used to log onto to Sales Force.com) will be redirected to the URL so the application can use the same credentials to validate the user, in  stead of the user having to login to the redirected site?  Any help is appreciated.

Regards,

Elliott

DevAngelDevAngel

Hi rurecruit,

The mechanism for this type of interaction is to send the sessionid to the app server and the server url.  Both are "merge" fields available when configuring the web link.  By having the session id and serve url, you can interact with the web services as the logged in user.  The login call returns to key pieces of information, the session id and the server url.  These 2 pieces of information can be obtained using merge fields on a web link.  Once you have those two pieces of information, you can use them just as if they were returned by the login method.

Cheers.

rurecruitrurecruit
Hi Dave,

Thanks for answering my question. One last thing, can I include the user's Salesforce login ID and Password in the URL string (get request) to pass the credentials to the App Server (i.e. URL?ID=XXX&PW=XXX)? And if yes, can the appended values be encripted? Is there also a way to call a URL using a post instead of a get (using javascript). Can you post the link to the Merge Field documentation? Again, please excuse these basic questions. Thanks.

Elliott
DevAngelDevAngel

Hi rurecruit,