function readOnly(count){ }
Starting November 20, the site will be set to read-only. On December 4, 2023,
forum discussions will move to the Trailblazer Community.
+ Start a Discussion
rwalrath144rwalrath144 

Not sure where to start - Trying to integrate Salesforce with an outside website

I am hoping somebody can point me in the right direction. I work in customer service for a gift card company. We have a website we use to look up orders. When there is an issue we open a case in Salesforce for the issue. The case is opened using information on the order copied and pasted from the order website.

I want to be able to open a case through the order website where all the information is automatically populated to the case. I have researched all the integration methods possible but I am just not sure which path will be the best path. Our developer doesn't think it is possible but I know it is.

Please help point me in the right direction!

shillyershillyer

What edition of Salesforce do you have? If you have PE, I recommend Email-to-Case. If you have EE or UE, then you can do this with either Email-to-Case or use the Force.com Web Services API. More details on integration can be found here.

Hope that helps,

Sati

rwalrath144rwalrath144

I have been following the Web Service API path as the best path so far. I am really new to code. I have been exposed to code before but nothing like this so I am a novice. There seems to be many options how to perform this task. Right now I am trying out Apex call outs but now having a hard time coverting the sample code to what I need to do. http://wiki.apexdevnet.com/index.php/Apex_Web_Services_and_Callouts#Apex_Web_Services

The sample code gives an Accounts Plan example and I am trying to accomplish this for Cases. Any suggestions from here.

NBlasgenNBlasgen

API is great and might be the best way to go.  But also look at saving yourself time and maybe using Web-To-Case.