function readOnly(count){ }
Starting November 20, the site will be set to read-only. On December 4, 2023,
forum discussions will move to the Trailblazer Community.
+ Start a Discussion
SlanganSlangan 

Custom Mail Merge Button

Hello -

I am a newbie here, and haven't been able to find an answer to this question on any of the forums. If someone has already solved this problem in another post and I have missed it, I would be forever greatful if you could please direct me to it.

We want to create custom button at the top of the opportunity object which will check to see if the user has obtained the required approvals for the opportunity (pricing, etc.) before they are allowed to create and e-mail the required merged documents. Ideally I would love to automate both processes into one (have the mailmerge execute and then automatically generate and send an e-mail with the newly created merged docs w/o any further input from the sales rep).

Because I am still really green at this, I am just trying to get a basic button working. I want it to take the user to the mailmerge page when they click it (assuming the right approvals have been obtained). I keep getting an  Insufficient Privileges error. I am the admin so I am unclear as to why I wouldn't have priviledges into any aspect of our org? The code I am using is below - any help/advice would be really REALLY appreciated.

{!REQUIRESCRIPT ("/soap/ajax/10.0/connection.js")}
var newURL = "{!URLFOR( $Action.Activity.MailMerge, Opportunity.Id)}";

if (
{!ISPICKVAL(Opportunity.Order_Status__c,"Payment Received - SOA" )}
)
{
window.parent.location.replace(newURL);
}
else
{
alert("You have either already sent the ERF form or you do not have sufficient approvals to perform this action");
}

Thanks a million to anyone who can assist!

Best Answer chosen by Admin (Salesforce Developers) 
SlanganSlangan