function readOnly(count){ }
Starting November 20, the site will be set to read-only. On December 4, 2023,
forum discussions will move to the Trailblazer Community.
+ Start a Discussion
okmiokmi 

Apex Values in Customer Portal Header?

I'm just starting out in SF, and don't have a lot of development experience. We have a customer portal that was recently developed, and I need to tweak it a bit to output the current user's main account name in the header of the portal. As far as I can tell I can only upload a static HTML file via the Documents section of our instance. Is that correct? How would I pull in a dynamic value to that section of our portal?

Best Answer chosen by Admin (Salesforce Developers) 
Pradeep_NavatarPradeep_Navatar

Yocan create a visual force page and wraps the page in an iframe :

<IFRAME height=120 src="/apex/HOC__Home_Page_Dashboard" frameBorder=0 width=170></IFRAME>

where Home_Page_Dashboard is the visual force page. Put that iframe in home page sidebar components. In apex page you can use SOQL to access the current user's account name :

user u =[select id,contactid where id=:userinfo.getuserid() ];

contact con = [select id,account.name from contact where id=:u.contactid];

Hope this helps.

All Answers

Pradeep_NavatarPradeep_Navatar

Yocan create a visual force page and wraps the page in an iframe :

<IFRAME height=120 src="/apex/HOC__Home_Page_Dashboard" frameBorder=0 width=170></IFRAME>

where Home_Page_Dashboard is the visual force page. Put that iframe in home page sidebar components. In apex page you can use SOQL to access the current user's account name :

user u =[select id,contactid where id=:userinfo.getuserid() ];

contact con = [select id,account.name from contact where id=:u.contactid];

Hope this helps.

This was selected as the best answer
okmiokmi

that is actually exactly what I ended up doing, and it worked very well. Thanks!

dev33dev33

hi okmi,