function readOnly(count){ }
Starting November 20, the site will be set to read-only. On December 4, 2023,
forum discussions will move to the Trailblazer Community.
+ Start a Discussion
May_The_ForceMay_The_Force 

Custom Button/Link Related Question

Hello. I am new to SF development and currently at a standstill in attempting to validate an e-mail address.

I have an object called Users which has accepts a name and e-mail address (both text on a standard SF page). I have also created a custom link called "validate e-mail". I plan to call a webservice passing the user-entered e-mail address when the custom link is clicked.I have imported my WSDL into an APEX class and everything works (I tested also)

Currently, I am not able to figure out how to display the user-entered value when the link is clicked.

Upon clicking on my link, I just want to display the user entered value in an alert statement but I have been unsuccessful. If this works I would like to call my webservice class and validate the e-mail address upon clicking on my custom link

I have been reading the forums and cookbook, but still not able to figure it out. Any help is appreciated...Thanks.

Pradeep_NavatarPradeep_Navatar

Use standardcontroller = "Users__c" and get the id from :

Id uid = Apexpages.currentPage().getParameters().get('id');

after that use SOQL Query to get email address and name :

Users__c usr=[select id, name,email from Users__C where id =:uid];

Hope this helps.

May_The_ForceMay_The_Force

Thank you for your reply.  I am still struggling to get the user-entered value. Essentially this is what I am trying to do:

1. I have set up an object called Users (API name MovieAppUser__c) with two fields one a user name and another a custom field called e-mail (which is of the type text). I am able to enter records through a standard sales force page (my Users tab).