function readOnly(count){ }
Starting November 20, the site will be set to read-only. On December 4, 2023,
forum discussions will move to the Trailblazer Community.
+ Start a Discussion
jadentjadent 

Populating Field Values on New

I'm new to sfdc developing and i would like to pre-populate a field value when someone clicks the new button on any given object.

To my limited understanding there is no trigger that fires at this point. Is there a way to pre-populate field values using apex when someone clicks the new button? Thanks!

shillyershillyer

Two ideas:

1. Use Default Values when defining the field

2. Use a S-Control URL and override the button. You can pass field values in the URL, as discussed here

Hope that helps,

Sati

jadentjadent

Thanks for the ideas i'll give the s-control a try as default values are not powerful enough.

Although that reminded me of another question on formulas i had. Do you know if its possible to reference the Who object in a Cross-Object Formula (My post about it is below)? Thanks again

http://community.salesforce.com/sforce/board/message?board.id=custom_formula&thread.id=5002

JMPlayer22JMPlayer22

It depends on where your "New" button is too...

If you are wanting to pre-pop some values over to a new related list object (i.e. pre-populate some Account field values onto a new Opportunity related to the account), the way I usually do this is to "clone" the "New" button and then replace it with the pre-populating "New" button that I make...

First, go to your starting object (i.e. Account) and go down to the related list of the related object for which you want to make the new button (i.e. New Opportunity).  Click the default "New" button and then copy the URL from the address bar once the new record page is up.