function readOnly(count){ }
Starting November 20, the site will be set to read-only. On December 4, 2023,
forum discussions will move to the Trailblazer Community.
+ Start a Discussion
SFDoodSFDood 

How to delete data using 'Apex Data Loader'

I have imported few data sheets into SF - sandbox. But there are quite a lot of duplicates being created.

I want to delete the data using Apex Data Loader. I am new to the this data loader. When I login to the data loader and Use the 'Delete' option, it asks to select the SF object. This is fine. But then it also needs a CSV file. I am here to delete the data.(Not import/Update). Kindly help me

Best Answer chosen by Admin (Salesforce Developers) 
OxeneOxene
Deletion of data primarily depends only on the Id of the records present in the csv file that you provide and the object. Please make sure that you have the ids of the records that you want to delete, specified in the csv file that you provide.

All Answers

kxa422kxa422

To delete, you need to be able to identify the records you want to remove. For you case, you need to export the content of your table in a CSV file. Keep in that CSV file the records you'll like to remove.

When you ran the Apex Data Loader again, use that CSV file to remove the records.

OxeneOxene
Deletion of data primarily depends only on the Id of the records present in the csv file that you provide and the object. Please make sure that you have the ids of the records that you want to delete, specified in the csv file that you provide.
OxeneOxene
This was selected as the best answer
WmWm
Run a report and get the ids of all the records you want to delete. Save it as CSV. When you delete these records using the datalodaer just feed this file into it. Hop ethis helps!
dmchengdmcheng

As the others have mentioned, you first need to export the data you want to delete so you can get the record IDs, then you use that CSV file for the Data Loader's Delete action.