function readOnly(count){ }
Starting November 20, the site will be set to read-only. On December 4, 2023,
forum discussions will move to the Trailblazer Community.
+ Start a Discussion
JAW99JAW99 

Faster way to add lots of fields to a S or Custom Object

Help this admin - wanna be developer out. Is there a faster way for creating custom fields that slogging through the multi step process? Especially when the layout and profile security settings will be the same exact clicks dozens of times?

I bet there's a tool that I'm just unaware of.

Message Edited by JAW99 on 05-22-2009 11:41 AM
Best Answer chosen by Admin (Salesforce Developers) 
JamesZJamesZ

I am very new at this and have been using the Eclipse Platform to mass create fields on a custom object. Once the identical fields are created I can go back through and on one screen change the fullName, label, and inlineHelpText. I first created a field using the 3-step process within salesforce with all of the field properties that the identical fields would have.

I used the Tutorial and selected the Force.com IDE. http://www.developerforce.com/flash_workbook/index.html

The tutorial will assist you with installing the Exclipse Platform and modifying objects. I hope this helps, I'm just getting started myself and it's very likely there is a quicker way.

All Answers

JamesZJamesZ

I am very new at this and have been using the Eclipse Platform to mass create fields on a custom object. Once the identical fields are created I can go back through and on one screen change the fullName, label, and inlineHelpText. I first created a field using the 3-step process within salesforce with all of the field properties that the identical fields would have.

I used the Tutorial and selected the Force.com IDE. http://www.developerforce.com/flash_workbook/index.html