function readOnly(count){ }
Starting November 20, the site will be set to read-only. On December 4, 2023,
forum discussions will move to the Trailblazer Community.
+ Start a Discussion
kevinedelmannkevinedelmann 

Update related object when field on case changes

We hae a look up field to Opportunites on the cases object.  I would like to update a field on the Opportunity when the Case is closed out.  I want to change the value from Sent for procesing, to Report Returned.

How can I get this done. 

FYI, I have no apex coding background so please take that into consideration in your answer.

Thanks in Advance.

Kevin Edelmann

Best Answer chosen by Admin (Salesforce Developers) 
Here is a solution I came up with after looking at an example from another post
trigger UpdateOppty on Case (after update){

if (Trigger.new[0].Id == Trigger.old[0].Id &&
Trigger.new[0].Opportunity__c!= null &&
Trigger.new[0].Status == 'Closed' &&
Trigger.new[0].RecordTypeId == '012Q0000000CgyE' ) { //This assures this is an update, the opportunity field is populated and that the record type is for the Repricing

string oId = Trigger.new[0].Opportunity__c; //this is the opportunity object lookup ID
Opportunity oppty = [Select Id, Disruption_Repricing_Request__c from Opportunity where Id = :oId limit 1];

oppty.Disruption_Repricing_Request__c = 'Delivered';

update oppty;
}
}
Message Edited by kevinedelmann on 06-12-2009 03:02 PM
Message Edited by kevinedelmann on 06-12-2009 03:30 PM

All Answers

werewolfwerewolf
Your only option is in fact Apex code, specifically an Apex trigger, likely on after insert/update of Case which updates the corresponding Opportunity.
werewolfwerewolf
Anticipating your next question: you may find sort-of-relevant sample code on the CSS quick start wiki here.  Also check out the Force.com Cookbook.