function readOnly(count){ }
Starting November 20, the site will be set to read-only. On December 4, 2023,
forum discussions will move to the Trailblazer Community.
+ Start a Discussion
kevinjia1984kevinjia1984 

Question about creating new records when a record created

Hi all,

I am a newbie in this area. I want to realize that When a new Publication_Mention__c record is inserted into the database with the Referral__c checkbox ticked  a new Opportunity  with a Product line item associated against the Opportunity will be created.

Below is the trigger:

trigger NewPublicationMentionTrigger on Publication_Mention__c(before insert, before update) {

NewPublicationMention.createNewOpportunity(Trigger.New);

}

Here is the class:

public with sharing class NewPublicationMention {
 public static void createNewOpportunity(List<Publication_Mention__c> PublicationMentions)
 {
 for(Publication_Mention__c PM: PublicationMentions)
 {
 //when the Referral__c checkbox ticked
 if(PM.Referral__c==True)
 {
 //a new Opportunity object will be created
 Opportunity newOpportunity = new Opportunity();

//a new Product object will be created
 Product2 newProduct = new Product2();

//fields of the new Opportunity object
 newOpportunity.Name = newOpportunity.Contact_Name__r.FirstName + newOpportunity.Contact_Name__r.LastName + '-' + newOpportunity.Product__r.Name;
 newOpportunity.StageName = 'New';
 newOpportunity.CloseDate = Date.today();
 newOpportunity.Type = 'Free';
 newOpportunity.Order_Source__c = 'Helpline';
 newOpportunity.Order_Date__c = Date.today();
 newOpportunity.Amount = 0;

//fields of the new Product object
 newProduct.Quantity_in_Stock__c = 1;
 newProduct.Price__c = 0.00;
 newProduct.First_Publication_Date__c = Date.today();
 }
 }
 }
}

I have tested it with creating a publication mention object. But no Opportunity and product record created. Can some one help me out with the wrong part. Thanks a lot

*werewolf**werewolf*

You are missing 3 key things: