function readOnly(count){ }
Starting November 20, the site will be set to read-only. On December 4, 2023,
forum discussions will move to the Trailblazer Community.
+ Start a Discussion
May_The_ForceMay_The_Force 

How to get User-entered Value?

Hello. I am new to SF development and currently at a standstill in attempting to validate an e-mail address.

I have an object called Users which has accepts a name and e-mail address (both text on a standard SF page). I have also created a custom link called "validate e-mail". I plan to call a webservice passing the user-entered e-mail address when the custom link is clicked.I have imported my WSDL into an APEX class and everything works (I tested also)

Currently, I am not able to figure out how to display the user-entered value when the link is clicked.

Upon clicking on my link, I just want to display the user entered value in an alert statement but I have been unsuccessful. If this works I would like to call my webservice class and validate the e-mail address upon clicking on my custom link

I have been reading the forums and cookbook, but still not able to figure it out. Any help is appreciated...Thanks.

MandyKoolMandyKool

Hi,

From your explanation it seems that you have to validate the email field. Not sure whether you have to do it using the Web-Services only.

The simple way to validate the email value is to use the "Standard Controller"  on VF page.

Then you can use the input field so that salesforce will automatically do the email-field validation.

following is the sample code for VF.

<apex:page standardController="User__c">
<apex:form>
<apex:pageBlock title="My Content" mode="edit">
<apex:pageBlockButtons>
<apex:commandButton action="{!save}" value="Save"/>
</apex:pageBlockButtons>
<apex:pageBlockSection title="My Content Section" columns="2">
<apex:inputField value="{!User__c.name}"/>
<apex:inputField value="{!User__c.EmailField}"/>
</apex:pageBlockSection>
</apex:pageBlock>
</apex:form>
</apex:page>