function readOnly(count){ }
Starting November 20, the site will be set to read-only. On December 4, 2023,
forum discussions will move to the Trailblazer Community.
+ Start a Discussion
Kratos55Kratos55 

Sending Email

Hi,

I would like some help on sending email message. I'm relatively new to Apex and VF. Here is what I've done so far - I've created a custom button (called Mail) in a Lead page, which when clicked,  pops open a simple VisualForce form window to send an email. I have pasted below the Apex code for Email Message which I had modified based on documentation/forum:

public class SendEmailMessage {

public String toEmail {get;set;}
    public String subject {get;set;}
    public String body {get;set;}

private final Lead MyLead;
    public SendEmailMessage(ApexPages.StandardController controller)

{
        this.MyLead=(Lead)controller.getRecord();
    } 

public void sendEmail() {

//create a mail object to send email 
        Messaging.SingleEmailMessage mail = new Messaging.SingleEmailMessage();

String[] toaddress = (new String[]{toEmail});

//email properties
        mail.setToAddresses(toaddress);
        mail.setSubject(subject);
        mail.setUseSignature(true);
        mail.setPlainTextBody(body); 

// send the email
        Messaging.sendEmail(new Messaging.SingleEmailMessage[] { mail });
     }   
   }

The VF code is below:

<apex:page standardcontroller="Lead" extensions="SendEmailMessage"> 

<apex:pageBlock title="EMAIL TEST">
        <apex:form >
        <br />
            <apex:outputLabel value="To" for="To"/>:<br/>
            <apex:inputText value="{!toEmail}" id="email"/><br/><br/>

<apex:outputLabel value="Subject" for="Subject"/>:<br />     
            <apex:inputTextarea value="{!subject}" id="Subject" cols="80" /><br/><br/>

<apex:outputLabel value="Body" for="Body"/>:<br />     
            <apex:inputTextarea value="{!body}" id="Body" rows="10" cols="80"/><br/><br/>      
            <br /><br />