function readOnly(count){ }
Starting November 20, the site will be set to read-only. On December 4, 2023,
forum discussions will move to the Trailblazer Community.
+ Start a Discussion
dkielydkiely 

Can I Attach a custom object to another custom object

Hi, I am pretty new to this and am hoping someone can help me.

Basically I want to create a button that will allow me to attach a number of secondary/sub custom objects to a primary custom object.

I would then be hoping to display the list of attached secondary/sub custom objects as a related list within the primary object.

TbomTbom

Hi,

Sounds like you would just want define a SFDC "Look-up" type field on your "secondary" object (to the primary object.)  Once you do so, the related listed will automatically be there for any of your "primary" object's layouts to use.

Hope this helps --

http://www.soliantconsulting.com

dkielydkiely
Hi, Thanks for the reply, this is very helpful, just wondering if you know of a way of limiting what is returned in the "Look-up", basically, I want to be able to related certain secondary objects with the primary object depending on information in both objects
dkielydkiely

Ok so I have been reviewing this and I think that the best think to do would be to have a button on the related list that will allow me to add the custom object to the related list manually.

Now to creating the button to perform the above!!!!

SiriusBlackOpSiriusBlackOp
If you provide some more details about what should be tied to what based on what and when... then we could probably help you make this task pretty easy for a user. I'm thinking a custom button to a Visual force page that contains a search mechanism to populate a grid of wrapper objects that contain your secondary custom objects.  Then the user could search, check the ones they wanted to tie into the primary and click a button to link them together and return them to the primary object instance.