function readOnly(count){ }
Starting November 20, the site will be set to read-only. On December 4, 2023,
forum discussions will move to the Trailblazer Community.
+ Start a Discussion
elghoul_girlelghoul_girl 

Difference between Lookup Relationship and Master-Detail RelationShip

Hello Everybody,

I am new in SalesForce. I don't understand what is the difference between the lookup and master-details relationships. Both are one to many relation ship.... and I can't imagine while developing when I should use each.. So, please advice

Thank you,

Sally

EnthEnth

There's fundamental differences in the behaviour and record sharing that you need to read up on. The following is purely a summary from memory and may not be 100% accurate, please refer to the salesforce help for a full explanation.

The key difference is master-detail has a direct dependency between the objects:

• You cannot have a detail record without a master.
  • The detail record inherits sharing rules from the master.
  • You cannot update the relationship to the master in a master-detail relationship.
  • The number of master-detail relationships you can use are limited.
  • You cannot set profile object permissions for a detail record
  • Master-detail relationships are automatically included in report record types 

When you delete the master it will cascade delete all detail records relating to that master. A typical use of a Master-Detail would be the classic Sales Order and Sales Order Items objects. 

• Lookups are generally for use where you may or may need to have a relationship between two objects (but not always).
  • Lookups are generally used to reference commonly shared data, such as reference data.
  • Lookups are used to link two objects together when you don't want the behaviour of the master-detail - particularly around sharing rules, profile permissions and cascade delete.
  • Lookups are used when you need to relate multiple 'parents' to the detail record.