function readOnly(count){ }
Starting November 20, the site will be set to read-only. On December 4, 2023,
forum discussions will move to the Trailblazer Community.
+ Start a Discussion
StefanStefan 

Change picklist values to match content

We are loading external data via a nightly job from SQL Server using DBAmp.

Some of the fields we populate need to be picklists so that users can easily select filter criteria in reports.

Is there a way that I can change the pick list values automatically when new values get added in the source system?

kwukwu

Hi Stefan,

Have you taken a look at the metadata api yet?

Here is something on picklist creation:

http://www.salesforce.com/us/developer/docs/api_meta/index_Left.htm#StartTopic=Content/meta_picklist.htm

Let me know if this helps.

Thanks,

Kevin

StefanStefan

Hi Kevin, I have very little knowledge of Apex, so my approach up to now has been to use DBAmp and SQL Server to manipulate Salesforce data.

Would appreciate some hints as to the best way forward?

Would I use a trigger:

- Check for value in table not existing in picklist

- Add picklist value to picklist

Are there any examples you could point me to that do something similar on a custom object?

I am working through Apex examples both using Eclipse and within Salesforce Sandbox but struggle a bit as the concepts are new to me not having Java experience.

StefanStefan
Can anyone help me with this?
StefanStefan
Can anyone help me with this?
kwukwu

Hi Stefan,

There is no way for you to create picklist values using Apex or a Trigger. At least I have not seen any way to do this yet. You have to use the MetaData API. The link I posted earlier shows an example of how to do this in JAVA. You can create new picklist values but you cannot change any values that are in use by existing records.