function readOnly(count){ }
Starting November 20, the site will be set to read-only. On December 4, 2023,
forum discussions will move to the Trailblazer Community.
+ Start a Discussion
samch_uncsamch_unc 

VPM: Returning and displaying a recordset

Hi All,

I'm new to the Visual Process Manager, and although I skimmed through the Firefly Illustrator documentation, I cannot seem to figure out how to do return & display a recordset.

What I want to do is have the user search for an item and be presented with a list of matching items to help them further drill down.  I can, of course, use the Account Lookup feature to display options like this, but it seems to be fairly limited.  First, the Account Lookup object can only display a single column of information - say, the Name of each record.  Second, it can only display a few results.  If the search term finds 30 or 40 results, the remainder aren't provided as selection options.  Ideally, I would like to be able to display a table of results with multiple columns to help our users identify the record they're looking for.  I've tried various approaches, but nothing seems to work right.  Any help would be appreciated.

Thanks,

Sam

swoodswood

The best way is to use the choice lookup element:

1. Create a question asking the user to select the appropriate record.

2. Create a choice lookup which links to your data source.

3. Complete the choice lookup allocations and filter as you did for the data lookup

If you want to display more information to the user than a single field, put a text formula into your object (displaying the data in the format you'd like) - then in the choice lookup, use the formula field as the field displayed to the end user.

Hope that makes sense!

Steve

samch_uncsamch_unc

Hi Steve,