function readOnly(count){ }
Starting November 20, the site will be set to read-only. On December 4, 2023,
forum discussions will move to the Trailblazer Community.
+ Start a Discussion
du-scodouglasdu-scodouglas 

Where statement issues

Hello,

I am trying to write the SOQL statement that will let me select only contacts that belong to the triggering account in a trigger, atm I have:

Contact[] cntList = [ SELECT c.Phone
                          FROM Contact c
                          WHERE Contact.AccountId = Account.Id
                          FOR UPDATE];

but the SOQL seems unhappy with the Account.Id field... giving the error:

Error: Compile Error: unexpected token: 'Account.Id' at line 9 column 52

I am new to APEX and Salesforce, I was hoping for either a nice link to some resources I can learn from, or perhaps an explanation on the error of my ways

Thanks alot.

Best Answer chosen by Admin (Salesforce Developers) 
sfdcfoxsfdcfox

You'll actually need to use something more like the following:

Contact[] cntList = [SELECT c.Id,c.Phone
                     FROM Contact c
                     WHERE Contact.AccountId in :Trigger.newMap.keySet()
                     FOR UPDATE];

You need to use "in" instead of "=", because it will be a list of account ID values, not necessarily just a singular account, and you need to actually obtain the list of account ID values; you referenced only a field name, not a valid variable that contains ID values. Trigger.newMap.keySet() returns a list of record ID values for the current trigger, which I assume is an Account After Update trigger. The ":" in the query tells the database system to perform dynamic variable substitution, which is necessary to pass a value or list of values into a query.

I hope this helps you out!

Edit: Be sure to take a look at the main page (http://developer.force.com/) and check out the resources under Technical Library. They have everything you need there: examples, documentation, and so on.