function readOnly(count){ }
Starting November 20, the site will be set to read-only. On December 4, 2023,
forum discussions will move to the Trailblazer Community.
+ Start a Discussion
twiq90twiq90 

"No such field" in Apex Data Loader

I'd like to know if anyone else has had this problem and if so, if there is a solution or explanation.  I'm using the Apex Data Loader to export data from my org. In Step 3, "Edit your query" a few fields are not listed in the box under "Choose the query fields below."  When I manually type them into the query, a dialog box with the error, "No such field XXX on entity YY" pops up.  Some of the fields that this is happening with are hidden, but some of them are not.  I am a sys admin.  I double-checked the object and these fields do indeed exist in them in the org that I've logged into.  Can anyone explain this to me?  Thanks.

*werewolf**werewolf*

Check the field level security on the fields in question; make sure they are in fact visible for the profile you're logging in as.  Also make sure you're actually entering the API names of these fields, like Field__c.  Tools like the Force.com Explorer can help you have a look at your data model from the API point of view.

twiq90twiq90

Thanks for the advice.  As I mentioned, some of the fields have their field-level security set as hidden, and one is "Editable".  When I try to look at the fields in Apex Explorer 8.0, the hidden fields of couse do not show up.  I can query for the editable field and get a result.  By the way, the editable field is of type checkbox with and the field has a long name (41 characters), in case that matters.  I also double-checked the API names.  They ones that I am using are correct.  Also, they are not showing up in the list of fields for that object, so it seems like the Apex Data Loader is not reading them either.

*werewolf**werewolf*