function readOnly(count){ }
Starting November 20, the site will be set to read-only. On December 4, 2023,
forum discussions will move to the Trailblazer Community.
+ Start a Discussion
connafinnconnafinn 

Want to create single picklist object that can be used across multiple objects (Accounts, Opptys)

I'm new to Salesforce so this may be an easy one:

I would like to create a Picklist whose values I can manage in one place but will be included in multiple objects.

For example, I want to create a Picklist called End User Types.

It will have the values: Hospital, Restaurant, University, etc.

I want to add the End User Types picklist  to Account, Opportunities, Leads, and other custom objects. 

Most importantly, I don't want the user to have to do a Lookup of the values.  I want it to look like a regular Picklist within Account, Opportunities, etc.

It will show up as a dropdown.

But I can manage the values in one place rather than creating separate Picklists within each object (Account, Opportunities, etc.)

It seems that I can do this with custom java development, but that is beyond my skillset.  Isn't there another way?

Ankit AroraAnkit Arora

Hi connafinn,

One way to do this by creating a component which will show your picklist values and you can use it any where. But if you want to do it natively then I am sorry there is no way to do so.

Thanks

Ankit Arora

Blog | Facebook | Blog Page

dfiredfire

You would need to create a visualforce page with a <apex:selectList> element and a custom controller or extension that would query your custom obj with the vals and load them into the picklist using the <apex:selectOptions> tag.

I think there is a way to add a VF component to a standard page, but I am not sure and have never done it.

Otherwise, lookups are just the Salesforce way of doing things.

NBlasgenNBlasgen