function readOnly(count){ }
Starting November 20, the site will be set to read-only. On December 4, 2023,
forum discussions will move to the Trailblazer Community.
+ Start a Discussion
cARL scARL s 

Unable to dereference a null object

I am new to salesforce but have lots of experience in java programming.  I have a need to dereference a null object in an apex class, but I am unable to do so.  Please advise me on the proper way to dereference a null object in apex.

Best Answer chosen by Admin (Salesforce Developers) 
sfdcfoxsfdcfox

As several people here have already stated, you can not deference a null object. The best that you can do is to use a try-catch block:

string s;
try {
  s = a.accountname.substring(0,10);
} catch(exception e) {
 s = '';
}

Although this is less efficient than simply using if-then statements (as mentioned earlier). 

If your programming lead can not understand this, then they should be forced to take the DEV classes offered by salesforce.com, because they clearly do not grasp the concept of a null object. A null object has no assigned memory, so it can not be dereferenced, because there is nothing to dereference to. A reference to a memory address is known as a pointer. To dereference a pointer is to follow that pointer to the memory address that the pointer references. If there is no memory to reference, how can you possibly access it?

Just as it is impossible to send mail to a mailing address that does not exist, it is no more likely that you will be able to dereference a memory location that does not exist. If you go into a building with 5 floors, you can not take an elevator or the stairs to the 20th floor, no matter how you try. This is a fundamental mechanic of programming logic, which is firmly rooted in real-world logic. A null object does not have the value "zero" (or 0, if you will), it has no value at all.

Here's another code example that illustrates the same problem: 

integer a, b;
a = b + 5;