function readOnly(count){ }
Starting November 20, the site will be set to read-only. On December 4, 2023,
forum discussions will move to the Trailblazer Community.
+ Start a Discussion
DJHDJH 

Making sense of jsp-sample

I'm pretty new to JSPs so that may be part of my problem, here, but there's no documentation at all on how one should tie the pieces of the "jsp-sample" together to make a working JSP application. They don't seem to relate to each other.

First of all, session.jsp is 100% Java, no HTML content. Why? Shouldn't its content be somewhere else instead? Also, it doesn't seem to be invoked by anything.

Secondly, GettingStartedEclipse.html. What's this for?

Thirdly, when I attempt to use login.jsp by entering a username and password and clicking the login button, what I get is "No file exists at the address "Salesforce/jsp-sample/Web Root/button cause an action to go out and attempt to login to the Salesforce web service?

I was hoping this JSP example was basically a JSP version of the straight-Java Quickstart example but it's not. Is there such an animal?

Please help....

DJH

Message Edited by DJH on 09-24-2004 05:09 PM

adamgadamg
Hi DJH:

Your are right that the jsp-sample could use a lot more (or any!) documentation.

As it is currently packaged, the jsp-sample is an Eclipse project, which means it is designed for use with the Eclipse IDE. Eclipse isn't, however, nessesary, as long as you get the filenames/paths correct. (Are you using an IDE?) Its not immediately clear to me what your error is given the description..

..included in the jsp-sample is all of the session management nessesary to bind a sforce login to a JSP sessions (its very useful, trust me.) The session.jsp is included at the top of the sample jsp pages (and any other jsp pages you write), and makes sure the login is correct, bounces the user to the login page if not, etc..