function readOnly(count){ }
Starting November 20, the site will be set to read-only. On December 4, 2023,
forum discussions will move to the Trailblazer Community.
+ Start a Discussion
BlairBBlairB 

Reporting on a picklist field from the most recent record

Hello,

I am hoping I can get a more experienced programmer/coder's help on an issue I'm having.

I am relatively new to the Salesforce platform but have been tasked with getting a functional database up and running for the social services agency where I work. We offer residential services for our clients and we have a great deal of data we want to track about each client and about each program and that program's residences. We have many many custom objects and many many relationships between objects.

One of the most basic things we do every week is a roster of each program and its residences and some information about each client currently in each program/residence. After a lot of time/work I figured out a way to get a current roster for each residence and each program (this is tricky as clients can move across programs or to a different residence within the same program). One of the items we report on weekly in that roster is the client's current level of skills and privileges. This level is set weekly at case management meetings. The way the database is set up currently, we have our clients as Contacts and the Contact is the master in the master-detail relationship with many other objects. Another object that we have is "Case Management" which is the detail in the master-detail relationship with Contact. Within Case Management, there is an object for the weekly Team Meetings. This object is the detail in a master-detail relationship with Case Management. So it's related to Contact, but not directly.