function readOnly(count){ }
Starting November 20, the site will be set to read-only. On December 4, 2023,
forum discussions will move to the Trailblazer Community.
+ Start a Discussion
scott1025971251scott1025971251 

Custom Object Relationship Name Doesn't Update

I am new to developing for Salesforce but I am almost positive this is a bug in their software.

I am trying to do a SOQL query through a parent-to-child relationship.  I have a cusom object called "Advisory Board History" with an API Name of "Advisory_Board_History__c" that is a child to a normal Contact.  Simple enough, here's my query:

"SELECT Name,
(
SELECT CreatedBy.Name
FROM Advisory_Board_History__r
)
FROM Contact"

But, it doesn't work!  It took me a while to arrive at this query too, I thought that using the "__r" instead of the normal "__c" to access the custom object through the API was smart, but alas...

I poked around but couldn't figure out how to fix it.  I wasn't sure if something with my syntax is wrong (again, I'm new to this), but then I went through my WSDL file (enterprise) and looked up the elements under Contact.  I found this as one of the elements:

<element name="Advisory_Board_Meetings__r" nillable="true" minOccurs="0" type="tns:QueryResult"/>

Wait!  "Advisory_Board_Meetings__r" isn't equal to "Advisory_Board_History__r", that must be the problem!  If I substitute the "Advisory_Board_Meetings__r" API name, then the query works perfectly.  

BUT, I am 100% completely sure that the custom object I created is called "Advisory_Board_History__c".  It *used* to be called "Advisory_Board_Meetings__c", but then I changed it.  That change happened over 3 weeks ago, so I can't imagine that it hasn't propagated or something.