function readOnly(count){ }
Starting November 20, the site will be set to read-only. On December 4, 2023,
forum discussions will move to the Trailblazer Community.
+ Start a Discussion
GarrettzGarrettz 

Deploying Permission Sets

I am new to development, but learning fast.

I currently have a Prod environment, Dev environment, and creating a Full Test enviornment. I have some Permission Sets in Prod (we needed them immediately to release an App) that I would like to deploy to Dev and Test. I also have Profiles and some more Permission Sets in Dev that I would like to eventually deploy to Test and Prod.

I know change sets does not include the Metadata to deploy the Object Level Security/Field Level Security or the Assign Apps, so I was referred to the IDE to deploy these changes.

I went to the IDE and I saw Profiles as a Metadata Component to add, but I'm not seeing Permission Sets.

My first question is - is the IDE the right tool to deploy Profile and/or Permission Set changes to App Assignments, Object Settings, and System Permissions?

My next question is - Why do I only have Profiles as a choice of Metadata Components to deploy through the IDE?

Another question I will have is how do I push changes from one Organization to another, but I can look that up on my own or research it later.

Thanks in advance for any help!

-Garrett

Best Answer chosen by Admin (Salesforce Developers) 
Rakesh BoddepalliRakesh Boddepalli

Yes, if you update the FLS on lead , the you can selectively all those fields and permission set or profiles  this works better in case of change sets.

Where as if you are using Force.com ANT deployment tool then its easy to push the whole object.

Thanks,

Rakesh 

All Answers

Ha ha .. Welcome to the Salesforce deployment world !!!

This is the most painful part of salesforce.com deployment , deploying permission sets and Profiles.