function readOnly(count){ }
Starting November 20, the site will be set to read-only. On December 4, 2023,
forum discussions will move to the Trailblazer Community.
+ Start a Discussion
mnoorgatmnoorgat 

Best way to get data - perfect view is in a (case) page layout

Hi,

I'm new to salesforce development.  I'm currently using C# .NET (through VS 2003) and Web services API version 5.0 and Enterprise WSDL.  I have been experimenting with the quickstart example to help me get to grips with the api.

What I would like to do is get all cases which were created with a specific page layout (I can get this via the record type), and then filter down these results further depending on the value of a custom field specified in that page layout.

The first part I can do using for example a query which looks a bit like this:

qr = binding.query("select CaseNumber, Company_Name__c, Project_Type__c from Case where RecordTypeID='0122000000001HqAAI'");

1) Can I do this easily by using the RecordType.Name (so I don't have to manually find the ID first)?

2) How do I do the second part (filtering down) as described above?

Any help / pointers would be greatly appreciated.

Thank you.

DevAngelDevAngel

Hi mi5tery,

You cannot use the RecordType name in the query.  You can use it to get the id, but you still need to use the id in the query.

The second part of the question then, is make your criteria " where recordtypeid = 'someid' and mycustomfield__c = 'cool'".  

Eess good?

mnoorgatmnoorgat

Thanks Dave,

1) Getting the ID shouldn't be a problem, it's nice to know what I can and can't do, thanks =)

2) In regards to the second question: What you suggested is precisely what I want to do... except I don't see my custom field in the WSDL definition of available fields for Case?