function readOnly(count){ }
Starting November 20, the site will be set to read-only. On December 4, 2023,
forum discussions will move to the Trailblazer Community.
+ Start a Discussion
tjn11tjn11 

C# Console App -> Force.com REST API

I'm new to SFDC Development and Cloud Development in general. Could someone please point me to a simple example of a vs2010 c# console app that authenticates to my SFDC Developer account, then uses the Force.com REST API to query some data from one of my custom objects. I'm not a JAVA guy. Finding this type of an example has been difficult. I've created both a User Token and a Remote Access entry in my SFDC developer account. What do I need to install on my machine to be able to access SFDC from vs2010 projects. In one of the c# examples i've found, the project had a WEB REFERENCE to apex and apex metadata. Under the .NET 4 Framework, I don't even have an option to add a WEB REFERENCE. I noticed if I change my project settings to .NET 2.0, I do have the option of adding a WEB REFERENCE. So, in VS2010, C#, how do I get what I need for developement/connectivity to salesforce. Thanks!

mnknmnkn

Hi tjn11,

I don't know if it is a big help, but here is my solution how i connect to salesforce via OAuth and then  manage objects via the REST API.

(You can find a lot of information about OAuth and salesforce here)

First you have to authenticate yourself on the authorization server with your "Consumer Key" and your "Redirect URI" (both have to be absolutely identical with the values in the Remote Access definition).

I developed an excel integration, so in my implementation it looked like this:

var authURI = new StringBuilder();

authURI.Append(salesforceAuthorizationEndpoint);
authURI.Append("response_type=code");
authURI.Append("&client_id=" + consumerKey);
authURI.Append("&redirect_uri=" + redirectUri);

Globals.WorksheetFunctions.requestBrowser.Navigate(authURI.ToString());