function readOnly(count){ }
Starting November 20, the site will be set to read-only. On December 4, 2023,
forum discussions will move to the Trailblazer Community.
+ Start a Discussion
ejstemblerejstembler 

Is it possible to make a list matching app?

Is it possible to create a Salesforce app which can upload external data (csv etc.), match some of the fields to internal data (customer list) and display the joined results?

I am a software developer with no prior knowledge or experience with Salesforce.  Outside of Salesforce, one way I could achieve this would be to just do a simple SQL join on two tables.  I have no idea if I could achieve the same result in Salesform using any of the available SDK stuff.

If this is possible, can someone point me in the right direction.  Maybe recommend some documentation I could look into fruther? Or even point out some code samples?

Thanks!

Shivanath DevnarayananShivanath Devnarayanan

I'm not sure if this what you're looking for, But the first 3 things that come to my mind to solve these are 

1) if youjust need to overwrite/ add values to the picklist of the field via an external program you could do it using the DataLoader for salesforce.com. It accepts csv etc.

More on Dataloader:  http://bit.ly/J3dxLS

2) if you need to do it programatically and the values stored are on your external application accessible by Webservice : then you could use Apex Webservices which would pull the data using the API and use custom apex logic to insert the values to the Picklist. But I'm not sure you want to do this until its  necessary and this is the longer route, if your problem is looking for a pretty simple and manual solution you should try the other options first.

More on Webservices