function readOnly(count){ }
Starting November 20, the site will be set to read-only. On December 4, 2023,
forum discussions will move to the Trailblazer Community.
+ Start a Discussion
ThatGuyThatGuy 

Where to begin?

Hello,

To start off, I have been working with Salesforce as an administrator for about 2 years. Before I began, I had no experience with the Cloud or any platform similar to Salesforce.

I would like to get started with more formal administrator and developer instruction, as I intend to get my Administrator and Developer certifications. I believe I'm off on the right foot: going through the tutorials and workbooks Salesforce provides online, but I do not know what my next step should be.

For someone at my level, I wonder if Dreamforce would be a worthwhile investment, but I'm worried that the information provided there still beyond my scope?

Are the classes provided by Salesforce necessary to obtain their respective certifications, or would I be able to acquire the knowledge they provide from hands-on experience? I know they are not required for certification, but how valuable is the insight they provide?

Starz26Starz26

For someone starting out they are extrememly valuable.

Review the docs in the technical libraby as wekk and get as much hands on experience as you can......

You need a solid foundation on which to build and the classes offer by salesforce will give you that foundation. They are pricey thoguh.

Dreamforce has a lot of course for new developers. Sometimes over your head is a good motivator and you can still use the knowledge presented and learn from it.

SamuelDeRyckeSamuelDeRycke