function readOnly(count){ }
Starting November 20, the site will be set to read-only. On December 4, 2023,
forum discussions will move to the Trailblazer Community.
+ Start a Discussion
L0t3kL0t3k 

Newbie Question about Inserting a Lead

I'll say right away, I'm just beginning to work with Salesforce, as we're evaluating now.

I've gotten the enterprise wsdl imported, and have managed to created a binding to SF, but I'm having trouble trying to add a lead.

This is what I have in that particular function...

Code:
        Dim newLead As New ApexAPI.Lead
Dim createdUser As New ApexAPI.User
createdUser.Username = "ttesterson@nowhere.com"
Dim ownerUser As New ApexAPI.Name
ownerUser.FirstName = "Test"
ownerUser.LastName = "Testerson"

newLead.FirstName = "James"
newLead.LastName = "Dean"
 newLead.Company = "UltraMegaMart"
newLead.LeadSource = "Web" newLead.CreatedBy = createdUser newLead.Owner = ownerUser

Now I want to commit this object as a lead in our salesforce database.  I've seen examples of doing this with the partner wsdl, but not the enterprise one.  Unfortunately, I have no idea how to actually insert this lead.  A quick pointer would be much appreciated!

SuperfellSuperfell
use the create call. Really, you should start by walking through the .NET quick start, which covers all this.
L0t3kL0t3k
I assumed create does the trick, but it takes an sObject object parameter, which my Lead object, obviously, is not.  I suppose I should have been more specific, I figure I'm trying to turn a Lead object into an sObject so that I can insert it.  I expected there to be a method for this, but haven't found it.