function readOnly(count){ }
Starting November 20, the site will be set to read-only. On December 4, 2023,
forum discussions will move to the Trailblazer Community.
+ Start a Discussion
NANCY1NANCY1 

Urgent: How ro change the field type from Master Detail to lookup (or any other else)??

Hi All,

Sorry to mark it urgent, as i need to implement this soon...

I have a custom object with Master detail Relationship, now i want to make this field as lookp field (reason: i may not have the master record each time for the detail record). Please let me know the way of converting the master field to Lookup, or any other Data Type.

or else, is there any way to to mark the Master Detail field as non-mandatory on the detail objects page layout

Please let me know..

Thanks

Best Answer chosen by Admin (Salesforce Developers) 
Ankit AroraAnkit Arora

Nope! Not in Enterprise edition, but possible on developer edition :)

Thanks

Ankit Arora

Blog | Facebook | Blog Page

All Answers

Ankit AroraAnkit Arora

Setup > App Setup > Go To your object > Click "Edit" on Master Detail Field > Click on "Change Field Type" > Select Lookup Relationship > Save it.

Thanks

Ankit Arora

NANCY1NANCY1

Hi,

Unfortunately.. i don't see "Change Field Type" button when i click on the edit the Master Detail field...

Thanks

Ankit AroraAnkit Arora

Field is on your custom object or any packaged object? Also let me know on which edition you are working with.

Thanks

Ankit Arora

NANCY1NANCY1

Fields are on Custom Object..its not packaged. And i am using Enterprise edition...

Ankit AroraAnkit Arora

Ahh!! That is the problem, you can change it on Enterprise edition.

Thanks

Ankit Arora

NANCY1NANCY1

Okay....

it means any of the reqt stated is not possible..... :)

Thanks

Ankit AroraAnkit Arora

Nope! Not in Enterprise edition, but possible on developer edition :)

Thanks

Ankit Arora

This was selected as the best answer
Carlama8Carlama8