function readOnly(count){ }
Starting November 20, the site will be set to read-only. On December 4, 2023,
forum discussions will move to the Trailblazer Community.
+ Start a Discussion
IraIra 

How to log in via VB6

I was told that when I signed up as a developer, I would have access to a demo database.

I was told that I would use my logon user name and password to logon to Sales Force.

I copied the VB code from the PDF and appears to work, but I am getting an error:

"Invalid username, password, security token; or user locked out."

I assume the User name and/or password is not the correct one to use.

I did use WireShark to confirm Internet traffic was occuring when trying to login.

Any help would be appreciated,

Ira

Best Answer chosen by Admin (Salesforce Developers) 
foghornfoghorn
In the main salesforce app, under setup, under My Personal Information, under Reset My Security Token

All Answers

foghornfoghorn
Check out the docs on api logins, pay special attention to login restrictions and api tokens...
IraIra

Thanks for the info. I saw in the email that was sent to me when I signed up with: You'll receive a separate email with instructions on how to get started.

I have not received that email yet.

I did see where a security Token will be needed to be added to the password.

I guess the next question: How do I get the security token?

foghornfoghorn
In the main salesforce app, under setup, under My Personal Information, under Reset My Security Token
This was selected as the best answer
IraIra
Thank you, foghorn. It worked beautifully.
IraIra

OK, I have login and I can list the "Fields". I take it these "Fields" are a default on creating the Database.

With an ODBC connection I can list all the Tables and Fields of any database, but I cant' find any good reference to how to do this here.