function readOnly(count){ }
Starting November 20, the site will be set to read-only. On December 4, 2023,
forum discussions will move to the Trailblazer Community.
+ Start a Discussion
IanM1963IanM1963 

Mileage Tracker

Hi,

I'm greatly enjoying my journey into developing Force applications. I am new to this but not to programming in general.

I am doing the MileageTracker work book and everything was fine until I started work on the Unit Tests.

My negative tests are in a try catch block identical to the tutorial - I even copied and pasted the code - it saves ok but when I run the test the test fails. I know the code should throw an exception but it is as though it is not being caught?

Here is what I see in the debug log...

=======================

00:18:50.419 (419341000)|EXCEPTION_THROWN|[99]|System.AssertException: Assertion Failed: Insert failed. First exception on row 0; first error: FIELD_CUSTOM_VALIDATION_EXCEPTION, Mileage request exceeds daily limit: 500: []
00:18:50.419 (419562000)|FATAL_ERROR|System.AssertException: Assertion Failed: Insert failed. First exception on row 0; first error: FIELD_CUSTOM_VALIDATION_EXCEPTION, Mileage request exceeds daily limit: 500: []

Class.MileageTrackertestSuite.runNegativeTestCases: line 99, column 13
External entry point

======================

So, my question is, has anyone else encountered this and how do I overcome it and get a green light on the test?

Many thanks,

Ian

Shashikant SharmaShashikant Sharma

Please provide your test method, you are facing some assertion failure and seems your assert in catch block is failing. Would like to see your code.

sfdcfoxsfdcfox

Your test method needs one of the two following code structures:

public static void testMethod test() {
  Milage_Request__c req = new Milage_Request__c(Name='Test',Miles__c=501);
  try {
    insert req;
  } catch(Exception e) {
    // Awesome, it failed correctly.
  }
}