function readOnly(count){ }
Starting November 20, the site will be set to read-only. On December 4, 2023,
forum discussions will move to the Trailblazer Community.
+ Start a Discussion
antiuserantiuser 

Creating/updating a "contact list" for mass-mailing

I've never used SalesForce before so I'm sorry if this is a stupid question but looking through the wiki only made me even more confused so I figured I'd ask here.

My client has a secure area on his website, where users can apply for access and their data is stored in a MySQL db on his server. When an admin goes in the back-end and enables access for this applicant, their data also needs to be sent to SalesForce so that the client can send them email updates, newsletters and so on. I'm not sure how to set this up as there seems to be many different ways/places in which data can be inserted. Looking for any help I can get... sample code would be awesome.

Best Answer chosen by Admin (Salesforce Developers) 
Park Walker (TAGL)Park Walker (TAGL)

You'll want to create a Contact record to store the information. To do that you will need to associate it with an Account. The Account may just be "Individual" for all of the Contacts or it could be the company that the person is associated with. That's dependent on the way that Salesforce is configured and, hopefully, can be explained by the Salesforce administrator for your client.

For the implementation details and plenty of examples you'll probably want to start here and select your language of choice.

All Answers

You'll want to create a Contact record to store the information. To do that you will need to associate it with an Account. The Account may just be "Individual" for all of the Contacts or it could be the company that the person is associated with. That's dependent on the way that Salesforce is configured and, hopefully, can be explained by the Salesforce administrator for your client.