function readOnly(count){ }
Starting November 20, the site will be set to read-only. On December 4, 2023,
forum discussions will move to the Trailblazer Community.
+ Start a Discussion
mbforcembforce 

Sample application

Hi,

I am very new to salesforce.

I am creating a sample application where I have created 2 objects namely "Student" and "Course"

Student object has fields ( name, date of birth, address, course enrolled, start date)

Course object has fields (Course name, start date , end date, Intake )

I want to add a field in Course object for available seat which will get automatically updated (intake - number of enrollments) for any particular course.

If there are 3 course "A" , "B" and "C" with intake 20, 25 and 30, how to check available seat for any particular course.

Please provide solution in detail.

Thanks,

Manish

AshlekhAshlekh

Hi 

According to you you have two object a) Student b) Course

If Student object is child child or detail object of Course than it is very esay to maintain available seat for particual course.

1) If you have master detail relation ship between course and student object then you can maintain the available seat for particular course on course object:

for this you have to create a new roll up summary field on course object and select Roll up type as a count. 

2) if you have lookup relation ship then you have to write a trigger on update, insert , delete event for maintain the available seat for particular seat on studend object and also create a number type field on course object.

If this post helps you than mark it as a solution and give me kudo's 

Thanks 

Ashlekh

mbforcembforce

Thanks for the reply Ashlekh,

I am very new to Salesforce it will be helpful if you guide me step by step for both the options you have given.

Thanks,

Manish

Satish_SFDCSatish_SFDC
In this case Course should be the master object and student should be the child object.