function readOnly(count){ }
Starting November 20, the site will be set to read-only. On December 4, 2023,
forum discussions will move to the Trailblazer Community.
+ Start a Discussion
SoCal AdminSoCal Admin 

Referencing SObject field data

Hi everyone.

I'm new to Salesforce Toolkit 20.  Looking for info on accessing Custom fields in custom objects.

Query works fine in Force.com explorer and in PHP script, but output is not showing field names.  I've updated the enterprise.wdsl.xml file and clearly see the Correct custom field info in the xml file, but query looks like this:

$query = "Select Id, NameInfo__c, data__c from customobject"

and output looks like this:

SObject Object

(  

[type] =>    

[fields] =>    

[Id] => a1eE0000000LABcIAO

)

SObject Object

(

[type] =>    

[fields] =>    

[Id] => a1eE0000000LABdIAO

)

SObject Object

(    

[type] =>    

[fields] =>    

[Id] => a1eE0000000LABeIAO

)

The ID can be printed with $record->ID.  How do I reference the custom fields?  Any attempt ends with "Undefined property: SObject::$NameInfo or   ...NameInfo__c     

Any suggestions or recommendations for where to look next?

Best Answer chosen by Admin (Salesforce Developers) 
Park Walker (TAGL)Park Walker (TAGL)

It seems like you may be mixing the Enterprise access method with the Partner access method. While you may choose to use either, the code to access fields is different. Your code is appropriate for the Partner access method where the fields are returned in the field object (e.g. Account->fields->Name). If you are using your enterprise WSDL this will not work as the field are returned as fields on the object (e.g. Account->Id, Account->Name, etc). Trying to use an enterprise WSDL with partner code will likely produce the results you are seeing, although I have never tried it.