function readOnly(count){ }
Starting November 20, the site will be set to read-only. On December 4, 2023,
forum discussions will move to the Trailblazer Community.
+ Start a Discussion
chikpeachikpea 

New in Apex and Stuck!!!

I am new in Apex Coding and stuck!!! Here is our simple application, I have a custom object - Service Plan (Service_Plan__c), which has field - Price Rate (Rate__c).

Now I want to create Quote for customers, which has Quote Lines (Quote_Line__c), each Quote Line has direct relationship with one Service Plan.

Now I want to get that Price Rate field value in Quote Line, insert that Price Rate field value in each Quote Line Value (Value__c) field.

How can do this? I tried with (before insert) trigger, but every time it shows syntax error.

How can I get the plan name in trigger code to find the corresponding rate.

Thanks in Advance!

Bhaskar

chikpeachikpea

I tried this code -

trigger updateQuoteLine on Quote_Line__c bulk (before insert) {
        Trigger.new.Plan_Rate__c = [select Service_Plan__c.Plan_Rate__c from Service_Plan__c
        where Service_Plan__c.Name = :Trigger.new.Service_Plan__c].Service_Plan__c.Plan_Rate__c;
}

which shows error -

Error: Compile Error: Initial term of field expression must be an SObject: ARRAY:SOBJECT:Quote_Line__c at line 3 column 39

What does this means, I just followed the code example.

chikpeachikpea

Fixed the compile issue, but still problem, here is my trigger code -

trigger updateQuoteRate on Quote_Line__c (before insert) {

if (Trigger.new.Service_Plan_Name__c != NULL)
{
             Trigger.new.Plan_Rate__c = [select Service_Plan__c.Plan_Rate__c from Service_Plan__c  where Name = :Trigger.new.Service_Plan_Name__c ].Plan_Rate__c;
}

}

I am trying to get the Plan name field value in :Trigger.new.Service_Plan_Name__c, but its getting some object string value instead of field value, any idea??????

mtbclimbermtbclimber