function readOnly(count){ }
Starting November 20, the site will be set to read-only. On December 4, 2023,
forum discussions will move to the Trailblazer Community.
+ Start a Discussion
darkblue_bdarkblue_b 

Get Report Results with SOQL?

Hello- I'm new to Salesforce, an experienced developer otherwise.
I have been provided with a Salesforce account with a simple list of customers in it, and a report I'd like to get the contents of (built by someone else)

I now have Perl Salesforce::Simple working, connecting to the account, and listing some fundemental objects. ( I don't know what they mean yet!) I'd like to execute this report and recieve the result back.

The way Salesforce::Simple works is that it just wraps a SOQL query. Some type information is there, but I dont have to deal with it if I don't have to... Far, far simpler than the whole SOAP/WSDL model.

shortest route from A to B?

thanks in advance
 -Brian

darkblue_bdarkblue_b
it seems that the Salesforce world has some depth to it... I've run a sample using the non-Simple version, and the nesting of the SOAP return structures is really something.. Tools come in handy here, no doubt..

but back to the Report in question. It queries Accounts, using just four rules. (1 or 3) and (2 or 4). It selects most all fields from the Account, but no, not all.

I queried the Account object in Perl , but that is just the field names for an account object, not a way to get the Accounts themselves.

As far as the SOQL, I appreciate pointers on how to to begin the query. If I have to replicate the report using SOQL, then so be it. It really isn't that much.

thanks in advance
  -Brian

EnderEnder
Perhaps you can describe what the report is supposed to do?  Its hard to know what kind of advice you want based on your previous post.  Do you want to know how the api works, or what specific queries to make?
darkblue_bdarkblue_b
>what is the report supposed to do?