function readOnly(count){ }
Starting November 20, the site will be set to read-only. On December 4, 2023,
forum discussions will move to the Trailblazer Community.
+ Start a Discussion
agni.fireagni.fire 

compile error - packages vs classes

Hello,
I am new to Apex programming. I am having some trouble getting some apex code running.

Environment;
Eclipse 3.3
Apex Toolkit : 8.0.2002
Apex version on my dev account : 8
Salesforce.com instance : NA3

I have been looking at some of the examples available through the reference manual. I can get the triggers and the S-controls to work. I can't get any of the samples involving class declaration to work. I get compile errors. This simple example doesn't work when I compile in eclipse. I created New Apex Package.
I removed the default automatic code ,

package test{

}
and replaced with .

// This class updated the Hello field on account records that are
// passed to it.

public class MyHelloWorld {
    public static void addHelloWorld(Account[] accs)
    {
        for (Account a:accs)
        {
            if (a.Hello__c != 'World')
            {
            a.Hello__c = 'World';
            }
        }
     }
}

I have tried to build this on salesforce.com apex editor and get the error
Error: Compile Error: expecting "package", found 'public' at line 3 column 1

Can anyone tell me if I have an older version of the apex version that uses the older style ( uses packages??, instead of classes) or what I need to do to get these examples working?

Thanks. Your time is appreciated.

SuperfellSuperfell
Not everyone has been upgraded to summer 07 yet, so you might still be on an instance that uses the old package keyword.
Ron HessRon Hess
you will have to paste your code into the UI, Eclipse is not yet available for the 10.0 API.

we will release the updated Eclipse toolkit version on 8/15

until then use the App , under setup->build->code
SuperfellSuperfell