function readOnly(count){ }
Starting November 20, the site will be set to read-only. On December 4, 2023,
forum discussions will move to the Trailblazer Community.
+ Start a Discussion
gopipatel_2610gopipatel_2610 

Apex trigger on opportunity update

Hi ,

I am trying to create an update trigger on opportunity. and if any opportunity is updated i wanted to merge all the partners in the given opprotunity in to a new custom field call merge_field.

I am new to apex. can anyone tell me how this is possible. and some sample code where i can start with.

Thanks,

Best Answer chosen by Admin (Salesforce Developers) 
Hi ,

I am using the following code but it says "Partners_Merge_Field__C" does not exist. I have created that custom field. I can see in the sforce explorer but still it shows error. So do we have to set some diff properties for the custom field.

Also can you help me with the following code. What has to be changed. I wanted to merge all the AccoutTo.Name into the "Partners_Merge_Field__c"

Thanks,

trigger UpdateOpportunity  on Opportunity bulk (after update)
 {
      for (Opportunity opp : Trigger.new)
        {
             Id OppId;     
             OppId = opp.Id;
Partner[] ThisOppPartner = [select  AccountTo.Name  From Partner  WHERE OpportunityId = :OppId ];
for(Opportunity o: ThisoppPartner)
{
  Partners_Merge_Field__c = ThisoppPartner[];
   o.update(Partners_Merge_Field__c);
}
update;

}
}

All Answers

TehNrdTehNrd
A little more detail is required. Where are these partners?  Related list, on the opp, is it a text field?
Yes these partners are on Opportunity. Actually its a child of Opportunity called OpportunityPartner
New custom field created is called "merge field" and its a text and this field is on opportunity.