function readOnly(count){ }
Starting November 20, the site will be set to read-only. On December 4, 2023,
forum discussions will move to the Trailblazer Community.
+ Start a Discussion
pfarrellpfarrell 

SOA from Apex Trigger?

I am new to Apex Code development and am trying to get a trigger to call a web service (imported into Apex Code via wsdl).

This is a simple web service hitting http://www.webservicex.net/WCF/ServiceDetails.aspx?SID=51 (a whois lookup service) for a test.

The wsdl imported correctly and I am now trying to utilze the web service in an Apex trigger.  Here's the code for the call.

trigger helloWorldTrigger on Account (before insert) {
Account[] accs = Trigger.new;
MyHelloWorld.addHelloWorld(accs);
}
Error: Invalid Data.
Review all error messages below to correct your data.
Apex trigger helloWorldTrigger caused an unexpected exception, contact  your administrator: helloWorldTrigger: execution of BeforeInsert caused by: System.CalloutException: Callout from triggers are currently not supported.: Class.wxWhois.whoisSoap.GetWhoIS: line 19, column 13

I'm reading this error as an indication that Apex triggers currently cannot perform an interaction with web services.  Am I interpreting this error correctly?
mtbclimbermtbclimber
Yes, you are interpreting this error correctly. You can not connect to an external service in the context of a trigger.  Callouts can be invoked through explicit operations only currently.  You can add your callout to a webservice method in Apex and then invoke that through the API which includes the AJAX Toolkit for UI interactions.
pfarrellpfarrell
thanks for the quick reply mtbclimber.
pfarrellpfarrell
I have a followup clarification request.

Is there any way to use SalesforceSOA through Apex without being in response to UI action (i.e. a button click)?
Ron HessRon Hess
you can call your Apex Code via an external webservice, at which point your SOA class can be invoked.
pfarrellpfarrell
Thanks Ron