function readOnly(count){ }
Starting November 20, the site will be set to read-only. On December 4, 2023,
forum discussions will move to the Trailblazer Community.
+ Start a Discussion
BtormarBtormar 

Apex Trigger to update all related child records

I'm new to Triggers and are trying to put in a trigger that updates all related child records on Opportunity. I have a custom object with a Master-Detail to the Opportunity and I'm trying to accomplish the following in a trigger:

Everytime a new record on the custom object is created I'd like it to uncheck a checkbox on all records for that Opportunity ID (and subsequently check that box for the newly created record but since the first part doesn't work I haven't tried to code this yet).

I also haven't put in the loop yet as since it won't even update a single record so far.

Here's my (bad) code:

trigger flag_fsc on Funnel_Scorecard__c (after update, after insert)
{
CustomObject__c[] fsc = trigger.new;
CustomObject__c[] fsc_update;

fsc_update[0] = [SELECT id, Most_Recent__c FROM Custom Object__c WHERE id = :fsc[0].opportunity__c] AND fsc[0].Most_Recent__c = TRUE;

fsc_update[0].Most_Recent__c = False;

update fsc_update[0];

}

And here's the error message:

Apex trigger flag_fsc caused an unexpected exception, contact your administrator: flag_fsc: execution of AfterUpdate caused by: System.ListException: List index out of bounds: 0: Trigger.flag_fsc: line 9, column 14

Any ideas anyone?

Thanks!
EJWEJW
The first issue is this line:

fsc_update[0] = [SELECT id, Most_Recent__c FROM Custom Object__c WHERE id = :fsc[0].opportunity__c] AND fsc[0].Most_Recent__c = TRUE;