function readOnly(count){ }
Starting November 20, the site will be set to read-only. On December 4, 2023,
forum discussions will move to the Trailblazer Community.
+ Start a Discussion
Arun BArun B 

SOQL help pls ..

Hello there,
I am quite new to Apex coding .. I got stuck while using some SOQL queries: Here is one:

Select s2.Product__c from spl_sample_object_items__c s2 where s2.Sample_Object__r.Name  in (Select Name from spl_sample_objects__c where Audit_Date__c  >=  2008-04-03 and Audit_Date__c  <= 2008-06-04)

spl_sample_objects__c -> master object
spl_sample_object_items__c - > detail object

The SOQL compiler is unable to understand the select statement in my subquery in where clause. I am unable to figure out the issue here. Is this query not feasible in SOQL ? Any help would be greatly appreciated !!

Arun B
Arun BArun B
Well after going through some posts I understood that the above is not feasilble in SOQL; Any work around suggestions ?
SuperfellSuperfell
Select Product__c from spl_sample_object_items__c where Sample_Object__r.Audit_Date__c >= 2008-04-03 and Sample_Object__r.Audit_Date__c
There's an excellent section in the API documentation on SOQL-R
Arun BArun B
Thanks for the response Simon. It really works well.

For the same requirement, I have one more question: I would need to execute 9 * 3 = 27 such queries(different where conditions) for a single action (flex button click) on the client side. Is it advisable to directly query the data using Apex.query or is there any better way to do this ? I am using Force.com toolkit for flex.Pls advise.

Thanks,
Arun B

Message Edited by Arun B on 06-08-2008 04:48 PM
SuperfellSuperfell