function readOnly(count){ }
Starting November 20, the site will be set to read-only. On December 4, 2023,
forum discussions will move to the Trailblazer Community.
+ Start a Discussion
msimondsmsimonds 

How to access APEX classes

I am new to APEX classes and have a few questions.  I posted once in the PHP forums to try and find a solution, but the answers were not clear

1)  If I create an APEX class can I access this from an external server/system or set of scripts that I write?  The script can be written in any language: PHP, Perl, etc....
2) Once I create the class and generate the WSDL from the class, do I download it and then use this like I do the Partner WSDL file

Any help or guidance would be appreciated.

I hope this is not too generic to answer my questions

Thanks,
Mike
sfdcfoxsfdcfox
If you use the webservice keyword, you can use the function as a webservice call from your custom <PHP, .NET, Java, etc> code. You can download the WSDL for it and use it just like the Partner or Enterprise WSDL files. Of course, you still need to login() or somehow otherwise obtain a session ID before you attempt to call the service.
sfdcfoxsfdcfox
As an addendum, the login()call isn't in the WSDL for the Apex class, so you still have to download a second WSDL, such as the Enterprise WSDL to obtain the session ID. The exception is if you're calling this class in response to an Outbound Message, which can include the session ID in the notification, but then you'd still be using two WSDL files (one for the webservice, one for the outbound message notification).
msimondsmsimonds
Thanks sfdcfox,

I will give that a try, I appreciate the guidance

~Mike
ClintClint
I'm new to salesforce (first post, first day developing for it) and I've been having a bit of a problem with this myself.