function readOnly(count){ }
Starting November 20, the site will be set to read-only. On December 4, 2023,
forum discussions will move to the Trailblazer Community.
+ Start a Discussion
maybemedicmaybemedic 

Dependency between a Picklist and Text field

Hello All,
              I am very new to Salesforce just a couple of days old. I am not even a Salesforce resource, but given the responsibility of making some changes to an existing object. We have an object with several fields. The requirement is that if a particular picklist value say, ABC_c is selected then three text fields need to be validated accordingly, i.e if ABC_c picklist is selected, then the user that enters values in these three text fields should enter atleast 10 chars long string, if not an error should be thrown to the user. I can see that we could create dependency between picklists, but this case of a picklist and text field, I am unaware of it. Any help is greatly appreciated. Also, it would be great if someone could point me to a tutorial where I can learn to write these validation rules. Thanks a zillion.
TCAdminTCAdmin
Hello maybemedic,

You will need to build from the validation rule below. It is a validation on two text fields but can be used for more.

AND(
    NOT(ISPICKVAL(Picklist__c, "")),
    OR(
       LEN(Text1__c) < 10,
       LEN(Text2__c) < 10
    )
)
maybemedicmaybemedic
Thanks Chris,
                       I did pretty much the same and validated two text fields.
tmactmac
I dont know if this is the place for me to post this question but I am having the hardest time writing validation rules.  My problem is that the ones for text fields stump me.  How can I write a validation rule to require that if a text field is complete then you must also complete the picklist field that provides additonal informaton?

For example ... if the square ft text field is complete then you must require the square ft range picklist...is this possible?
TCAdminTCAdmin

Hello tmac,