function readOnly(count){ }
Starting November 20, the site will be set to read-only. On December 4, 2023,
forum discussions will move to the Trailblazer Community.
+ Start a Discussion
BenPBenP 

update records within custom object

Let me start by stating that while I can figure out what code does, I am by no means a programmer. 

We have a custom object (SVMXP__Service_Group__c) that has around 2,000 records in it.  These records almost never get updated, but they have a checkbox that needs to be unchecked when a date field expires.  There is currently a workflow for this, but if I understand those correctly they only fire when a record is updated which doesn't happen.  I'd like to make a little script that I could call with cronkit which would just check if the date field is less than today and if so change the checkbox.

The object is SVMXP__Service_Group__c
the field to change from true to false is SVMXP__Active__c
the field to check if the date is less than today is PolicyExp__c

I have some documents on apex, but I am overwhelmed right now.  It's simple in my mind, but I don't know enough to get anything going.
LumingLuming
Function for that is quite straightforward, i think challenge is about how to call this function.

As my understanding, APEX codes can be called by trigger or other user actions. hower, it seems like that you want a daemon. I don't think there is a easy solution.

RickyGRickyG
BenP -

Have you looked into timed workflows?  If the expiry date is not too far in the future, you can simply set up a timed workflow to do a field update at the appropriate time.

Hope this helps.
BenPBenP